Standards Committee

17 March 2023



Town and Parish co-opted members of the Standards Committee

Report of Helen Lynch, Head of Legal and Monitoring Officer

Electoral division(s) affected:

None

Purpose of the Report

To consider the nominations for Town and Parish Council co-opted representatives to the Standards Committee and agree recommendations to Council regarding their appointment.

Executive summary

- In 2012, the membership and composition of the Standards Committee was agreed as 1 County Councillors and 2 non-voting co-opted Parish Councillors.
- On 11 March 2022, the Standards Committee agreed arrangements for the appointment of Parish Co-opted members, which were slightly amended by agreement of the Committee on 5 December 2022.
- Following the death of Councillor Terry Batson in November 2022, the Standards Committee requested the County Durham Association of Local Councils (CDALC) to seek expressions of interest for the vacancy for co-opted Parish Councillor. The other co-opted Parish Councillor, Councillor Ralph Harrison subsequently resigned his position and therefore a second vacancy has arisen.
- 5 CDALC have sought expressions of interest and considered their Executive Committee met on 1 March 2023 to consider the nominations for the role of co-opted member on the Durham County Council (DCC) Standards Committee.
- The Executive Committee resolved to recommend Councillors Alan Doig and Chris Foote-Wood to be appointed to the vacancies.

Recommendation(s)

- 7 The Standards Committee are recommended to:
 - i) record its thanks to Councillor Ralph Harrison for his service to the Committee since 2015
 - ii) recommend to Council that Councillors Alan Doig and Chris Foote-Wood are appointed as non-voting co-opted Parish Council representatives on the Standards Committee.

Background

- In 2012, the membership and composition of the Standards Committee was agreed as 11 County Councillors and 2 non-voting co-opted Parish Councillors.
- The Standards Committee agreed the procedure for appointing nonvoting co-opted Parish Council representatives at its meetings on 11 March and 5 December 2022. CDALC are asked to seek expressions of interest from all Town and Parish Councillors. In the event that there are more expressions of interest than there are vacancies, the CDALC Executive will determine who their nominees will be.
- Following the death of Councillor Terry Batson and the resignation of Councillor Ralph Harrison in February 2023, there are two vacancies for the position of non-voting co-opted Parish Council representatives.
- 11 Following the Standards Committee meeting on 5 December 2022, CDALC were requested to seek expressions of interests for the role. The Head of Legal and Democratic Services worked with CDALC to develop a role profile and information sheet for prospective candidates. There was healthy interest in the position and nine applications were received.
- On 1 March 2023 the CDALC Executive Committee met to consider the nominations for the role of co-opted member on the Durham County Council (DCC) Standards Committee and resolved to nominate Councillors Alan Doig and Chris Foote-Wood.
- 13 Councillor Alan Doig was elected to the City of Durham Parish Council in 2018 and currently holds the position of Chair. He has previously been a board member for Standards Board England and has conducted academic research on the development and implementation of public ethics and standards regimes.
- 14 Councillor Chris Foote-Wood is a Councillor for Barnard Castle Town Council and has 42 years of experience as a local Councillor including periods as a Parish, Town, District and County Councillor. He has held several positions such as the Inaugural Chairman for Dene Valley Parish Council and the Committee Chairman for Bishop Auckland UDC.
- 15 It is the responsibility of full Council to appoint the non-voting co-opted Parish Council representatives to the Standards Committee. Therefore, the Committee are asked to recommend their appointment to Council at its meeting on 29 March 2023.

The Standards Committee may also wish to formally record its thanks to Councillor Ralph Harrison who was appointed to the Committee in 2015. He regularly attended Committee meetings and made a valued contribution on behalf of Town and Parish Councils.

Background papers

None

Author(s)

Helen Lynch Tel: 03000 269732

Appendix 1: Implications

Legal Implications

There is a general power in section 102 of the Local Government Act 1972 to appoint a Committee including persons who are not Members of the Council, this is the power used to appoint the co-opted Members of the Committee.

Finance

There are no financial implications arising out of the report.

Consultation

None.

Equality and Diversity / Public Sector Equality

The nominations from CDALC have been received following an agreed process, which enables all Town and Parish Councillors to express and interest in the role.

Human Rights

None

Crime and Disorder

There are no crime and disorder implications arising out of the report.

Staffing

Accommodation

There are no accommodation implications.

Risk

None.

Staffing

There are no staffing implications.

Procurement

There are no procurement implications.